Using one cost guide's ranges, checked on 19 October 2026, the three checks work out at about £88.50 to £192 a year: gas safety yearly, an EICR spread over 5 years and an EPC over 10.
Nobody sets the price of these checks. The figures below are what named cost guides quoted on the day we checked, and your own quotes will differ. The rules come from GOV.UK, HSE and legislation.gov.uk for landlords in England. This is general information to help you understand the rules. It isn't tailored to your circumstances, so check your own position before acting on it.
Your landlord deadlines, handled
A compliance calendar for each property, with reminders before every certificate and your register deadline. Landlord Tax adds your Making Tax Digital figures and tax return, prepared for you to send.
Are you ready for Making Tax Digital? Check your start date and what to sort first. It’s free and takes a minute.
How often each check is needed
| Check | How often | Penalty if you break the rule |
|---|---|---|
| Gas safety check | Every 12 months, by a Gas Safe registered engineer | HSE says a substantial fine and/or a custodial sentence |
| Electrical safety report (EICR) | At least every 5 years, or sooner if the report says | Up to £40,000 (guidance published 1 November 2025) |
| Energy performance certificate (EPC) | Needed before marketing or a new letting; lasts 10 years, with no renewal needed if it expires mid-tenancy. Rating E or above unless you register an exemption | £200 for not making a valid EPC available or giving one to the new tenant; up to £5,000 in total per property for letting below E without an exemption |
| Smoke and carbon monoxide alarms | Working on the day each new tenancy begins | Up to £5,000 for not complying with a remedial notice |
You need a smoke alarm on each storey with living accommodation, and a carbon monoxide alarm in any room used as living accommodation with a fixed combustion appliance other than a gas cooker. There is no certificate to buy for alarms, so they are left out of the cost figures below.
What each check costs, by source
All checked on 19 October 2026. "VAT not stated" means the page does not say whether its prices include VAT.
| Check | Source | What it quotes |
|---|---|---|
| Gas | MyJobQuote | £60 to £90 for a single rental property; £80 to £110 in London and the South East; £10 to £20 for each extra appliance. VAT not stated |
| Gas | Fantastic Services | £60 to £90 including VAT for a boiler plus one appliance; £85 to £120 in London and the South East |
| EICR | MyJobQuote | £150 to £250 for a landlord's report; £200 to £400 in London; some electricians charge £10 to £30 per circuit. VAT not stated |
| EICR | Housekeep | £60 to £250 including VAT outside London; £100 to £300 including VAT in London |
| EICR | Fantastic Services | £120 to £200 for a flat and £200 to £350 for a house, outside London and the South East, including VAT where applicable |
| EPC | HOA | £44 to £104 from its October 2026 spot checks of assessors. VAT not stated |
| EPC | MyConstructor | £34 to £120 for homes. VAT not stated |
| All three | Best Builders | Gas £60 to £120 (up to 3 appliances); EICR £120 to £300; EPC £45 to £120; all three booked together £220 to £450. VAT not stated |
An example year, worked from one guide
This example uses Best Builders' ranges only, so the arithmetic comes from a single source. It is an example, not a typical cost.
| Check | Quoted | Spread over | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gas | £60 to £120 | 1 year | £60 to £120 |
| EICR | £120 to £300 | 5 years (÷ 5) | £24 to £60 |
| EPC | £45 to £120 | 10 years at most (÷ 10) | £4.50 to £12 |
| Total | £88.50 to £192 |
The example leaves out any repairs a check finds, extra gas appliances, London prices and an EICR that sets a shorter interval than 5 years.
What changes the price
- Size and contents. Gas checks are priced by the number of appliances, EICRs by bedrooms or circuits.
- Location. The gas and EICR guides above all quote more for London, and most also for the South East.
- Booking together. Best Builders quotes £220 to £450 for all three in one booking. Fantastic Services quotes £90 to £150 for a gas check with a boiler service outside London and the South East.
- VAT. Several guides do not say whether VAT is included. Ask for a written quote that does.
- Follow-up work. EICR repairs are priced separately, and you are not currently required to spend more than £3,500 including VAT on EPC improvement work.
Can you claim the cost against your rent?
GOV.UK lets you deduct expenses that are wholly and exclusively for renting out the property, including general maintenance and repairs. HMRC's Property Income Manual (PIM2010) applies the same rule. GOV.UK's list does not name safety certificates, so whether a check is deductible comes down to that test. Keep each invoice.
Work found by a check follows the usual rule. A repair that puts something back as it was is allowable. Adding something new, or improving it, is capital and cannot be set against rent, although replacing a part with its nearest modern equivalent can still count as a repair. The guide to repairs and improvements has examples.
What this means for you
Say your quotes land at the top of Best Builders' ranges. Setting aside £192 a year, or £16 a month, would cover the three checks over time. At the bottom of the ranges, it is £88.50 a year, about £7.38 a month. Each invoice then goes in your records with your letting expenses.
Steps to budget for your checks
- Find the date of your last gas record, the next inspection date on your EICR and your EPC's expiry, using the find an energy certificate service.
- Count your gas appliances and bedrooms, because quotes are priced on them.
- Get at least two written quotes for each check, including VAT, from a Gas Safe registered engineer, a competent electrician and an accredited assessor.
- Ask whether booking the checks together costs less.
- Set aside a monthly amount from the example above, adjusted to your quotes.
- Keep every invoice with your property expenses.
The free MTD check shows whether Making Tax Digital applies to your rent. The landlord section has guides on gas safety, EICRs and EPC ratings.
Our Landlord Compliance plan is £6 a month including VAT, and a free tier is available. It gives you a compliance calendar for each property, with reminder emails before every certificate, deposit, Right to Rent and register date, to help you run your lets under the new rules. Each date comes from the published rule and the dates you give us. It's a record of what you've told us, not an inspection of your property. We don't inspect properties, serve notices or act in court.
Hold your place on the landlord waitlist
We’ll email you when Landlord Tax starts, with the founding-member price while it lasts. No payment is taken. Landlord Compliance is open now.
Questions people ask
How much is a landlord gas safety certificate?
When we checked on 19 October 2026, MyJobQuote quoted £60 to £90 for a single rental property, or £80 to £110 in London and the South East, with £10 to £20 for each extra appliance. Your own quote depends on how many gas appliances you have and where the property is.
How much does an EICR cost for a rental?
MyJobQuote quoted £150 to £250 for a landlord's report, depending on size and number of circuits. Housekeep quoted £60 to £250 including VAT outside London and £100 to £300 in London. You need one at least every 5 years, or sooner if the report says so.
How much is an EPC for a rental property?
HOA's spot checks in October 2026 found quotes of £44 to £104, and MyConstructor quoted £34 to £120 for homes. An EPC lasts 10 years, and if it expires during a tenancy you need a new one only when you next market the home or let to a new tenant, so it is the smallest of the three costs once spread over its life.
Is it cheaper to book the checks together?
It can be. Best Builders quoted £220 to £450 for gas, EICR and EPC booked together, and says that is normally cheaper than arranging each one separately. Ask each provider for a written price for the bundle and for each check alone.
Can I claim the cost of safety certificates against my rent?
GOV.UK lets you deduct costs that are wholly and exclusively for renting out the property, including general maintenance. GOV.UK does not name safety certificates, so check each cost against that test. Improvements made after a check are capital and are not deducted.
Do smoke and carbon monoxide alarms need a certificate?
No. The rule is that the right alarms are fitted and working on the day each new tenancy begins, and repaired or replaced once you are told they are faulty. Councils can fine up to £5,000 for not complying with a remedial notice.
Sources
- Gas safety: landlords and letting agents FAQ (HSE)
- The Gas Safety (Installation and Use) Regulations 1998, regulation 36: duties of landlords (legislation.gov.uk)
- Electrical safety standards in the private and social rented sectors: guidance (GOV.UK, published 1 November 2025)
- Energy Performance Certificates (GOV.UK)
- Domestic private rented property: minimum energy efficiency standard, landlord guidance (GOV.UK, updated 5 May 2026)
- Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm (Amendment) Regulations 2022: guidance for landlords and tenants (GOV.UK, updated 29 July 2022)
- Work out your rental income when you let property (GOV.UK, updated 19 March 2025)
- HMRC Property Income Manual PIM2010: applying the wholly and exclusively rule (GOV.UK)
- Landlord Safety Certificate Costs UK 2026: Gas, EICR, EPC (Best Builders, updated 29 August 2026, checked 19 October 2026)
- Gas Safety Certificate (CP12): Landlord Gas Safety Checks (MyJobQuote, updated 15 October 2026, checked 19 October 2026)
- How much does a gas safety certificate (CP12) cost? 2026 UK price guide (Fantastic Services, checked 19 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety Certificate Cost: How Much is an EICR? (MyJobQuote, updated 12 August 2026, checked 19 October 2026)
- How much does an EICR cost? October 2026 (Housekeep, checked 19 October 2026)
- How Much Does an EICR Cost in 2026? UK Price Guide (Fantastic Services, checked 19 October 2026)
- A guide to energy performance certificates for the marketing, sale and let of dwellings (GOV.UK)
- EPC Costs 2026: How Much Does An EPC Cost? (HOA, updated 6 October 2026, checked 19 October 2026)
- EPC Certificate Cost (MyConstructor, checked 19 October 2026)
This is general information to help you understand the rules. It isn't tailored to your circumstances, so check your own position before acting on it.
Righto Landlord is a trading name of NJG Consultancy Ltd, registered in England and Wales, company number 16095900. Registered office: Jubilee House, East Beach, Lytham St Annes, FY8 5FT.
What happens next
- Use the free Making Tax Digital checker to see your own start date and deadlines.
- See what Righto Landlord does for you, and join the waitlist.
- Questions about this page? Email hello@rightolandlord.co.uk.